First Post!


Hey everybody! Welcome to my blog! This is my first post and I am really excited. I’m guessing I should tell you a little bit about myself. My name is Emily, I am 17 years old and I’m an aspiring fashion designer who loves to sew, even though I have very little experience, due to a lack of some good beginner projects ( any suggestions would be awesome). I do however do a good few projects by hand every now and then, mostly involving reconstructing T-shirts.

I find this strange sort of happiness when I’m sewing, I feel as though I’m right where I belong. I know this is all kind of schmaltzy (pardon my spelling, I’m fairly sure it’s incorrect) but I feel accomplished while sewing and not just once I’m finished.

So schmaltz aside, let’s go to our review.

It’s crazy how expensive a sewing project can be. It’s almost always cheaper to buy an outfit rather than make it yourself. When you think about buying a pattern, fabric, notions etc. Sewing can become an expensive hobby. Burdastyle helps alleviate some of that.

I’m not exactly sure when I first stumbled upon this site, but it was love at first sight (no pun, or rhyme intended). If you’ve ever heard of Burda, odds are you have heard of Burdafashion their collection of patterns. While it isn’t as exciting as any of the bigger names in patterns, they do offer quite a nice variety (and Juniors patterns!).

Burdastyle is their other website, a sewing community equipped with a forum, a wealth of tutorials and my personal favorite: patterns. All of the patterns on Burdastyle are copyright free and almost all of them are free. While some are from Burda, there are also several user submitted patterns.

One of the semi-downsides is the patterns themselves. Since it’s on the website they’re in PDF format, which means printing out a multitude of pages and then having to cut and tape them together, which can be mildly aggravating (a bit of an understatement for larger garments). However, they suggest taking it to Kinko’s or something because they can print it all on one sheet (I’m unsure as to how that works).

Another great feature with the patterns is that people can post their finished product. I love this because it’s hard to tell how something’s going to look from a drawing.

Overall, I love this site and can’t wait to make some more of them when I hopefully get my own sewing machine.

Well that’s it for now!

Sew on!
Emily

PS I can’t believe I forgot to include the link! burdastyle

One thought on “First Post!

  1. Good job, Emily!
    It’s funny that you would mention the cost of sewing. I was involved in a conversation about that this week. When I was your age, I made most of my formals and other stuff too, mainly because it was cheaper,but also because I really enjoyed it. It doesn’t seem to be as cost effective anymore, but you sure can’t beat the creative outlet. Sew on!

Leave a Reply

