Up in the Air


So there’s been yet another gap in my posting. I finally got my email from FIT. I have started my portfolio and have until February 1 to finish it. I was worried about it before seeing the email, but it’s BIG. It’s not unfeasible, but I have been putting a lot of prep work off. Actually, all of it. Well I did two sketches, but I still have a long way to go. It’s been hard doing this during the holidays, which have been a huge ball of stress, not those squishy ones that relieve stress but more like a dodgeball straight to the head. The holidays were marvelous—don’t get me wrong—but I certainly am not sad to see them go.
One good thing that came out of all of this craziness was travel. I know for many, travel, especially during the holidays, is a very stressful thing. I know I’ve had my share of years. Car rides from New Jersey to New York and the car rides from Tennessee to New York were dreaded, to say the very, very least. This year, however, we opted to fly. It’s just my Mom, my brother, and myself. I don’t know about you guys, but I absolutely love to travel. I love flying especially (unless O’Haire is involved). There’s something so elegant about all of it, even with screaming kids in the background or four plus hour layovers.
I’m not sure what it is, but creative juices flow exceptionally well at 10,000 feet. On my way up here (I’m writing this post from Islip Gate A3. Don’t try to come and get my autograph, there’s no wifi here, so I’m writing in Word and won’t post until I find some which most likely means home.) I was sketching like crazy, and I sketched or colored (I got a beautiful set of copic markers for Christmas!) around seven or so sketches. I just churned out one after another and they all look pretty good. I may have to do a few more and I need to purchase a few more markers (I’m thinking khaki, black and brown. Maybe even a green and purple.) Here’s a little sampling:


What I really love about this is whole process is the “design challenge.” Essentially you’re designing for a woman going on a weekend vacation going to a destination of your choice. The catch is that she can only bring 5 items: 2 tops, 2 bottoms and a jacket. You have to design these items and they all have to coordinate. I’ll be honest, I am not a huge fan of sketching separates. I enjoy designing dresses for the most part. My second favorite is to design suits. I love designing really unique suits simply because work attire has become so overly casual and dull. It’s also because I love the thirties and forties so much.
I’ve really been struggling with this so far. Trying to make two separately unique looks that also can stand alone together and then have to design a jacket is a difficult. It wouldn’t be a challenge if it wasn’t. It’s really got me thinking about how pieces need to work together in a collection and perhaps even other designers’ work. I mean, do you wear the same labels from head to toe? How often do celebrities wear looks exactly as they are on the model? It’s few. People like to put their own twist on fashion. I think I’m going to keep that in mind more often when I design.
It’s funny. When I first talked about doing this (see: so it’s been a while…) I said my biggest concern was the sketches. Now that I’m actually working on it and have a deadline the biggest hurdle will be the sewn garments. I never fully realized the sheer scale of work I had to do with all of my projects. I have one where I have to redo the gathers and re sew the bodice to the skirt. I have pockets to fix. Armholes to blind stitch. An entire project to finish. I have to iron all of them as well. I think I’m spending the remainder of my break working on my sewing projects simply because it’s so much easier sewing at home.
While I didn’t set foot in New York City just being in the state and with family has really gotten me excited about this. I want to go to FIT and everything I can to show them that I would be an excellent addition to their student body. It truly is an amazing, but slightly scary thing, being so close to your dreams
Have a fantastic holiday and New Year
Sew On!
Emily

Leave a Reply

