Fashion Cents: Color Blocking


This is the “new idea” I discussed in my last post. To be completely honest I have no idea how this will take shape. I’ve created a sort of framework for this post, but we’ll see how it goes!

So as I mentioned in my last post, being stylish on a budget seems like a daunting task, but it doesn’t have to be. It’s just a matter of perseverance, thinking carefully and keeping an open mind.

Today’s trend is color blocking. Color blocking is where blocks of color and/or fabrics are sewn together in one garment. The fashion industry has a tendency to lump this in with wearing bright, saturated colors together. This post focuses largely on the latter.

Why this trend? Color blocking is a sound investment. Historically, unless there’s a war or some other disaster, color is in. Color also makes an impression. Imagine you’re walking down the street. Eight people pass by you wearing neutrals and then one person passes by you wearing bright yellow pants. Who, or for that matter what will you remember the most? You betcha. Banana pants.

So here’s the first look:

Fashion Cents #1 Day

Miss Selfridge sheer top
$26 – missselfridge.com

H M short jacket
£30 – hm.com

Wallis cigarette pants
$42 – wallisfashion.com

Nine West cross body handbag
$39 – ninewest.com

H M straw hat
£7.99 – hm.com

The total ends up being $195, which is a little steep for what I was planning but a lot of these pieces are most likely solid investment pieces.

Investment pieces are items that are worth putting the extra money into because

A) They are well made and will “stand the test of time”

and/or

B)They are so versatile that they easily fit in with your wardrobe and will be worn on a regular basis.

A well-made white button up shirt, a nice basic black blazer, a cashmere cardigan and a simple comfy dress are all investment pieces. For me, I find the easiest trick is to look at the piece you want to buy and think about how many times you’re going to wear said piece in a month, or depending on the garment a year, and then divide the price by that. What you get then is a price per wear. I know personally this helps me make plenty of clothing decisions.

So. About this outfit.

I wanted to kick this off with a daywear look. I really love this look because I can see it in all sorts of places. I can see it being worn as work wear, I can see it being worn for a casual date, a day at the park or even going sight seeing.

What I really love is that each of these pieces can be worn with other things commonly found in one’s wardrobe. The jacket can add a pop of color to a little black dress or a white t-shirt or tank top.The shirt can be worn with denim or black shorts, or even a coordinating skirt, and khaki pants go with virtually anything.

So this post is already miles too long so I’ll continue with our evening look in the next post.

Sew on!

Emily

Leave a Reply

