Style Cents: Suit up! (Sort of)


I’m on a roll now! Well, maybe. Anyhow, I thought I’d break out the good ol’ style cents again and see how things fare.

Since I’ve covered your regular casual beachy look and a more after 5 look, I thought I’d try to round things out with a more work appropriate look. Work wear has a special place in my heart because that’s kind of where the first spark of real inspiration came from, at JFK airport on my way to South Korea. That’s a story for another time, but suits and work attire were a large portion of what I sketch before I knew how to design, and it’s also a large part of what I am hoping my first line will include (more on that bit later). So here we go:

001

Cotton shirt
$32 – topshop.com

Dorothy Perkins long jacket
$39 – dorothyperkins.com

A Wear pencil skirt
£8 – awear.com

American Apparel patent leather high heels
$16 – americanapparel.net

Wallis white handbag
$35 – wallisfashion.com

Madewell golden necklace
$48 – madewell.com
Outfit total: $147.50
 I love this outfit, and I kind of want it for myself–not that it’s different from the other two looks,  but that is really cute. All of these pieces are wonderfully versatile.
If you’re the type who loves structure and guidelines, like myself, to help you through picking an outfit, here’s a great one:
If you have a looser top, go with a more fitted bottom. If you are wearing a more structured top go with a looser bottom.
Let me explain. This does not have to do with fit, but rather silhouette. Let’s say you’re wearing a flowy, sort of bohemian top. Best thing to pair it with? Boot cut or skinny jeans.
An A-line skirt? A fitted blouse, or a nice knit top.
Of course this isn’t an ALWAYS sort of rule. It’s just a good way to start thinking, and a great thing to remember when you’re either too tired or in too much of a hurry in the morning to try on every item in your wardrobe.
With that rule in mind, the top, while it is a more fitted bodice has a peplum (that skirty thing at the bottom) and thus an a-line or fuller skirt would de-emphasize said peplum. To maximize peplum drama, but still keep it sophisticated and work appropriate, a black pencil skirt was chosen.
While this look is great and the skirt and top could easily stand on their own, jackets are fabulous and can really help to add oomph to an outfit. I chose this one because A) color is awesome and achromatic black an grey workwear makes me kinda sad and B) It’s simple, doesn’t detract from the rest of the outfit, and the collar has a marvelous elongating effect.
The purse and necklace are sharp, and add some retro flavoring to the outfit.
The shoes are actually vintage, and I’m not sure exactly what it is about them, but they look absolutely fabulous with them.
So that’s it for now, I should have the second part of this article posted sometime in the next week or so.
Sew on!
Emily
Leave a Reply

